- Affects all vSpace products running on Windows operating systems for single user.
- Does not affect vSpace products running on Windows Server operating systems.
After applying Windows updates on operating systems for single user (i.e. Windows 7, Windows 8.1, Windows 10) a warning error may be displayed when attempting to login: "Select a user to disconnect so that you can sign in. There are too many users logged in."
Under this condition, the operating system will only allow one session on a thin client, which is perfectly suitable for VDI deployment scenarios where a single session is accessed per operating system. If multiuser sessions are attempted, these will be rejected as a security measure.
In addition, our UXP protocol does not change performance or alter licensing scheme on Microsoft products.
Our End User Licensing Agreement assumes that when you are installing vSpace for multiuser purposes, you are installing on a Server Operating System.
If multiuser sessions are needed, vSpace will need to be installed on a Server OS, like 2008 R2, 2012, or 2016. This will enable you to comply with Microsoft's licensing requirements
and will allow your multiuser sessions freely.
As an additional benefit of using Server OS, our UXP protocol will utilize some of the APIs within the Server Platform. For example, if you desire a Windows 10 look and feel for your users, we would recommend using Server 2016, so you can enable a desktop experience mode that will deliver a native Windows 10 look and feel. 2012 and 2008 R2 will also have similar configurations to enable desktop experience mode and show at the clients a Windows 8 or 7 desktop respectively.
Once you deploy on a Server OS, you will need to configure your licensing server. We have many articles written on our knowedgebase
on how to configure a licensing server for 2008 R2
Remember to configure your licenses per user and not per device.
As a temporary alternative. If you are found in an emergency and you are working with Windows 10, 8.1 or 7. While you consider migration to Server OS, the only way to return functionality to your sessions is to remove the recent updates from the PC or use System Restore to roll back your computer before the updates and prevent them to install again on your computer.