NComputing

            HOW TO: Add a new user and configure Remote Desktop User's Group settings on Windows Server 2016

            When using NComputing products, it is important that each user has their own user account. While some operating systems may allow multiple users to be logged in using the same credentials, certain applications and functionality may depend on unique user accounts. Unique user accounts also allow administrators to more effectively configure permissions and policies on a per-user basis if desired. Below are the steps required to create a new user account within Windows Server 2016.

            While Windows Server 2016 offers some new interface options and menus that can be used to add or manage user accounts, it also includes the same Local Users and Groups menu that Server 2008 R2, 2012, and Windows 7 featured. The only difference is in how that menu is accessed. We'll be using the classic Local Users and Groups menu in this guide, as it will likely be familiar to anyone who has used previous Windows operating systems.

            1. Right click the Start Menu and choose Computer Management. 


            2. In the Computer Management window click on Local Users and Groups and right click the Users folder.  Select New User.  

            3. Once you create the user, you can then go to the left pane in the window and expand Local Users and Groups, then, click the Groups folder and double click Remote Desktop Users Group.
            4. Click Add. Then, in the Select Users window you can enter the name of the session you just created in the given field. Click on Check Names next to it and the name will become underlined as an indication that the user was found and accepted. 

            Also, in the instance in which this may be practical, you can set up a general access to all sessions to connect and interact with the server.  In such case, in the Select Users window, you can enter the word: Everyone.  Click on Check Names and the name will become underlined as an indication that the entry was accepted.  Now all connecting sessions will be admitted.  



            Helpful?  
            Help us to make this article better
            0 2